Canada International Access Innovation Internet Choice & Affordability Free & Open Internet

OpenMedia welcomes new members to Board of Directors

OpenMedia is happy to announce that three new community members have joined its Board of Directors.

OpenMedia is happy to announce that three new community members have joined its Board of Directors. The new additions only further strengthen the existing board slate, and reflect OpenMedia’s continued commitment to outstanding public advocacy and education supported by deep experience and expertise.

“We are very pleased to deepen our community reach and insights with the additions of these proven leaders,” says Susan McLennan, Board Chair. “We are all aware of the various disruptions globally impacting the openness of the Internet. The work of OpenMedia is now more important than ever, to ensure a future that provides opportunities and connectivity for all.”

OpenMedia is pleased to welcome:

  • Dylan Blanchard. Dylan has spent almost seven years building the Shopify research team committed to helping entrepreneurs around the world start, grow and run businesses.  He has spent the majority of his career working with entrepreneurs, and clearly understands the need for an open internet for entrepreneurs to thrive and scale.
  • Marion MacKenzie. Marion is an awarding winning communications professional and was previously President of GCI Canada, one of Canada’s largest communications and engagement firms.  Marion is an experienced consultant and corporate executive and an active community volunteer and board member. She received her ICD.D accreditation in 2016.
  • Rob McClinton. Rob has more than 25 years of experience in software, technology, and the Internet. Most of this has been through startups including, X1 Technologies, and McClinton is currently the founder and CEO of Designing Nation Holdings and its Internet registrar, Small World Communications, where he focuses on helping small businesses, local shops, and individual creatives to get online and thrive.

The new appointees join OpenMedia’s dedicated Board members Susan McLennan (Chair, joined OpenMedia’s Board in 2012), Brett Gaylor (2017), Jacob Glick (2017), Hilary Osborne (2017), and Anil Kanji (2017).

Biographies for each of OpenMedia’s board members are available at

OpenMedia works to keep the Internet open, affordable, and surveillance-free. We create community-driven campaigns to engage, educate, and empower people to safeguard the Internet. Take action now

View all campaigns
Take action now! Sign up to be in the loop Donate to support our work